Thoughts on 70.3 training so far …

Posted on Updated on

Week 2 

Last week’s training consisted of

2 runs – 18 miles and 8 miles with Primrose Hill for fun 🙂

1 track session

1 road cycle

1 long swim

1 strength session

Lots of short yoga sessions

My thoughts on half ironman training so far …

  • Planning is essential and spreadsheets are your friends!  To make sure that I am getting a certain amount of sessions in per week I have made a whole host of beautifully colour-coded spreadsheets, using a variety of different coloured biros and highlighters – I LOVE stationery – and honestly they have helped hugely so far!  I always wanted to make sure that training never got in the way of general life so having it all written down has meant that I can still schedule lots of breakfasts and dinner dates!  Did I mention I love food?  HOORAY for spreadsheets!
  • The importance of knowing when to do a strength session.  I learnt the hard way that an upper body workout will affect swimming … back to the spreadsheet to shuffle things around for next week!
  • STRETCHING is EVERYTHING.  Currently I swear by the short but sweet reset videos from Jasyoga – I will be writing another post about recovery soon – but so far Jasyoga videos have done my shoulders and lower back a world of good.

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on 70.3 training so far …

    peachylau said:
    03/07/2016 at 11:34 pm

    Please become my PA (and PT soon too) xx

      charliezbrown responded:
      03/08/2016 at 10:19 am

      Haha, always more than happy to help 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

