My love for NTC

Posted on Updated on

So following my post about finding other activities other than just running to enjoy I introduce you to NTC – Nike Training Club .

In the summer of 2013 I joined a run club led by Nike Trainer “Kezia Lopez”.  Now sadly a few weeks later the club came to an end but Kezia mentioned that she runs a “NTC – Run To Train” class from the Nike Covent Garden store and that I should come along so off I went to see what it was all about it.

Entering the store I was greeted by Kezia and a whole host of other women getting ready to head out into London.  After a couple of warm up drills we gently ran over to the location of choice for that evening, which if I remember rightly was a section of Regent’s Park, and then Kezia led us through 40 minute session of planks, squat jumps, lunges and her favourite – burpees.  Once these exercises had been done over and over again in a pyramid sequence we “ran” (I am not sure you could call my slog back running) back.  I can actually remember the entire workout, and how flippin’ difficult those squat jumps were but what I can also remember was how much I enjoyed the session and that it was free!

1186120_289452894527002_717272769_n

Week in week out I headed to the Covent Garden Store for 18:30 ready to run to a different location in central London and be made to work!   I even managed to drag my wonderful friend along with me which meant that my NTC sessions supplied a work out as well as an opportunity to catch up (it also usually involved dinner afterwards too :D).

1383162_305396272932664_1210714448_n

When I was offered a spot in the Manchester Marathon my NTC sessions became a key part of my weekly training plan.  It is very easy to just RUN whilst training for a marathon and that be that but the NTC classes ensured that I was getting at least one weekly session that built on strength, particularly glutes and core which all runners are repetitively told to work on!

1 (384)

Now due to a change in schedule I don’t get to head over to Covent Garden on a Tuesday evening now but a few weeks ago I was able to make it across to see whether things were still like I remembered.  I was extremely pleased to see that this NTC session still attracts lots of women of all abilities, creating a lovely, supportive community of like minded people.  It’s also worth mentioning that these sessions in particular offer a fantastic opportunity to explore that incredible amount of free “gym” spots that London offers, whether it’s tricep dips on a bench, shuffles around a water fountain or legging it up and down stairs it all proves that you don’t need an expensive gym membership to get hot and sweaty.

NTCS

I cannot recommend the various NTC sessions that Nike provide, particularly if you are new to London as it is a great way to meet people and make friends whilst doing something you enjoy and if time would allow it I would love to do more!

1475792_331874826951475_991045927_n

If you fancy giving a FREE workout a go I could not recommend NTC enough so click and book in!

1 (16)

4 thoughts on “My love for NTC

    Emma B (@StripeSnapshots) said:
    08/09/2015 at 7:00 pm

    Really wish I lived nearer central London to be able to go to these classes, they sound great!

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/13/2015 at 11:14 am

      Hi Emma, have you tried using the NTC App? That’s great from home/park workouts!!

    Claire (@CMClaire) said:
    08/11/2015 at 6:57 am

    This sounds amazing! There are so many great groups I’m learning about.

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/13/2015 at 11:14 am

      London is absolutely full of them! It’s such a fantastic place, I hope you manage to try one out soon!

Leave a Reply

