Surviving Winter Running

Posted on Updated on

As people are now in the depths of marathon training and it feels like the UK is getting colder and colder I thought I would write a little post about how I survive winter running!

1. Layering! Have a think about what is each layer offering you?  Body warmth? Wind protection?  Rain (or snow) “protection” ie does it have a hood, is it waterproof?  Does the fabric breath if you get a lovely cold sweat going?  I always have a quick flick at the weather before going out on a long run.  If there is rain forecast I go straight to my brightly coloured Frank Shorter jacket which has a hood and thumb holes (my favourite thing!)  If there is no rain and it’s just down right chilly then I could not recommend my Nike Pro Hyperwarm top more!  Nike’s hyperwarm stuff is maybe a little more pricey but it really does do what it says on the tin!  They are perfect for winter runs!! PERFECT and they have thumb holes too ;D

IMG_5039
I love that my top could not be much brighter!

2. GLOVES! Wear gloves! We lose a lot of heat from our hands so keep them warm, particularly if you want to get quickly back into the warmth!  I am sure I cannot be the only one who has struggled to even key their key in the lock because their hands have been so cold!  I still haven’t found the perfect gloves, but my hands are known to be absolutely useless at keeping their heat.  Currently I run with Nike Shield Gloves  but have heard quite good things about the Sweaty Betty Element Gloves too.

3. A buff! In the Arctic I think my most prized piece of kit was my Nike neck warmer! This piece of kit worked fantastically well, and it even kept my nose warm when needed!

IMG_4540

4. Indulge in a hot shower or bath post run.  I know ice baths are meant to do amazing things but for me if I am already freezing the last thing I want to do is get even colder. I like nothing more after a long cold run than to sit in the bath with a hot drink! Yep with a hot drink too!!! Try it!

5. Keep hydrated! It makes obvious sense to keep hydrated in the summer, you are sweating, you need to replace fluids. But are you telling me you have never experienced cold sweats?  It is just as important to keep hydrated in the depths of winter as it is in the summer (oh imagine running in the sunshine!)   I once got told about hot Nuun and luckily the wonderful people at Nuun recently sent me a few flavours so I had to test this out!  As mentioned in point 4 … a hot bath with a Hot Nuun, soothing, re-hydrating and WARM!! Treat!

IMG_5061

 

So there you have it. A couple of tips that I stick to whilst I am training in the lovely English winter time!  That and of course finding friends who are crazy enough to head out with you.  Crazy running friends always help too :D!

Do you have any other tricks to keep you warm whilst running in chilly climates?

 

5 thoughts on “Surviving Winter Running

    rularuns said:
    02/03/2015 at 5:57 pm

    Oooo, I hadn’t thought of hot Nuun – def going to try that next time

    A Magpie in the Sky said:
    02/03/2015 at 7:35 pm

    Hot Nuun! I would never have thought of that. genius

      charliezbrown responded:
      02/03/2015 at 9:02 pm

      I know right!!!! So cosy!! xx

    skinnedcartree said:
    02/03/2015 at 10:14 pm

    I love this tips – I sometimes over layer though. Today it was 4c and I had a base layer and a long sleeved over the head top on and I should have one without the base layer! I do it too often and never learn haha. Gloves are a must. Without them my hands turn to ice.

    Corinne x
    http://www.skinnedcartree.com

      charliezbrown responded:
      02/04/2015 at 2:51 pm

      I know layering is a tricky thing! Think about where you feel the cold. For instance I know that I run pretty hot up top. So if it looks cold but not freezing usually just my nike hyperwarm top, headband and gloves and off I go. If it looks bitterly cold I would wear a short sleeve base layer and my Lululemon jacket which is super cosy! Ha I know that feeling, yesterday whilst running in the snow I may or may not have had two pairs of gloves on ;D!

Leave a Reply

