Circuits, running, diving and cinnamon rolls …

Posted on

So it’s been another week of training with a few random elements thrown in for good measure of course ;D!

Monday

Had the pleasure of working from home so kicked the day off with 3 rounds of full body circuits, did some work, went for a steady 30 minute run in the sunshine, came back and did more work, went to a casting and then came home to build my new bed with an extremely handy friend.  You know, just another normal day ;D!

Tuesday

20 minutes on the x trainer and 15 minutes on the bike.  Both at a steady pace ready for tomorrow!  (No RunDem run as had an event in the evening)

IMG_0641

Wednesday

My first real attempt of channeling Bolt in a run.  I think he still might beat me.  So Wednesday was all about 10 x 1 minute repeats, but not only did they need to be at full effort they also needed to be consistent.  So using a quiet path which I found whilst doing my warm up I used a tree as my starting point and ran at full effort for a minute which roughly took me to a bin at the end of the path.  With 1 minute recovery in between I then ran back at full pace in attempt to get back to my starting point!  By the end of it I definitely felt like the bin and the tree had grown legs and were moving about to tease me … either that or I was just getting tired ;D!

IMG_0717
My Run Rabbit tee definitely got it right!

In the evening, well it was just another normal evening catching up with Charlie … a normal evening where you get a personal diving lesson with the Tom Daley Diving Academy!  Spogo kindly invited us down to the London Aquatics Centre and well we couldn’t say no!  More details will be up on the blog in a couple of days but for now here’s a couple of pictures ;D!

IMG_0783
Practice makes perfect right ;D
In reality … a bit more scary!

Thursday

Three rounds of full body circuits and a gorgeous 30 minute RUNcommute to work!  I forgot how convenient it can  be to run to work, easily the most efficient way to get to the office!

Friday

Oh hello rest day!  I generally find rest days quite tricky as I am not very good at sitting still but this rest day was seriously appreciated … my legs are definitely feeling the speed work so instead I had an early night and cooked some of my favourite things 🙂

IMG_0832
corn and tofu!

Saturday

Disgusting 1km repeats.  And when I say disgusting I mean disgusting!  Who knew that Highbury Fields had a few sneaky inclines!  And where on earth did that wind come from?!  So once again speed and consistency were key for this so after an extremely slow, almost horizontal, run to Highbury Fields (about 1.4 miles) I set off on my first of six 1km laps around Highbury Fields.  My first three laps were relatively similar, my fourth was WAYYYY OUT and then I brought the fifth and sixth back to a similar time to my third lap.  This was hard, really hard, particularly as my double helping of granola before this apparently wasn’t the best fuelling!  Lots of lessons learnt on this run, no granola before speed work and definitely need to slow it down on my first lap to keep the consistency up!

IMG_0868
Angry runner face!

Sunday

So after missing out on Stephanie Muzzal’s infamous homemade cinnamon buns on Saturday due to over fuelling and late running I knew I would somehow have to get across London to get my hands on one!  I had a 45 minute run on the plan and it had to be super slow (holding back on my “super slow” runs is something that I am struggling with at the moment but I know they will help when it comes to speed work so I am just gritting my teeth and getting on with it) so figured why not jog on down to Waterloo Station and jump on a train to meet her after her incredible 20 mile run?!  So that is exactly what I did!  Apart from having to remind myself to go slow this run was lovely, I knew the route so could hide my phone away and instead I just enjoyed the sights and sounds whilst running down through central London.  It has to be said that the amount of “walk of shames” I past was INCREDIBLE and extremely entertaining!  Once I got to Putney the moment came … those cinnamon buns are like no other!  Yes Steph it was hugely impressive that you ran 20 miles today but personally nothing tops how incredible your baking is.  Cinnamon buns like no other!!!

IMG_0893

 

5 thoughts on “Circuits, running, diving and cinnamon rolls …

    peachylau said:
    08/18/2014 at 3:24 pm

    Can you let us know your full body circuit? I wouldn’t mind some inspiration for at home exercises

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/19/2014 at 9:10 am

      Hey lady, of course! It is a mix of lots of different moves that I swap around each week to keep the body guessing! It included press ups, full sit ups (remember to keep those hands behind those ears so you are really using your core to lift rather than your arms!) tricep dips, mountain climbers, squats, lunges, bunny hops etc. Usually chose 4/5 moves and then repeats 2/3 times … Hope that helps! xxx

        peachylau said:
        08/19/2014 at 9:14 am

        Great thanks

    Lauren (@PoweredbyPB) said:
    08/18/2014 at 5:58 pm

    Highbury fields incline is so sneaky! I hate the parkrun there as it’s 5 laps, and you are just cursing that incline by the third or fourth time you’ve done it ha!

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/19/2014 at 9:07 am

      It seriously is! I swear I have walked around there and never noticed it before! Still does make a good little loop!!! ;D!

Leave a Reply

