This week’s workouts & THAT rain!

Posted on Updated on

As always a bit of running, a bit of weight lifting and one random workout ;D  Just how I like it!!!

Monday

3 rounds of full body circuits followed by 30 minutes on the x trainer

Tuesday

Morning – All about upper body weights in the morning!  Very excitingly (to me) I know I am getting closer to doing an unassisted pull up … small goal for this year … me and my snowman twig arms have got a way to go yet but we are getting there!

Evening – First run back with my Run Dem family after two weeks away!  This time we went loooonnnng running to the Olympic Park and back!  I loved it, EVERY SINGLE MINUTE!  Always so good to catch up with everyone and regardless of the day I have had I always finish these runs with the biggest smile on my face.  Casual, unplanned 9 miles … whoops!

IMG_0573

Wednesday

Intervals.  Horrible, horrible intervals! 10 minute warm up, 10 x 1 minute efforts followed by a 10 minute cool down.  It was hard, it was sweaty but hey I got it done and the reward was 100% WORTH IT ;D!  These legs WILL get used to speed!

IMG_0704

Thursday

3 rounds of full body circuits and a lovely 30 minute jog in the sunshine.  Nothing like getting up early and having a relaxed run in the sunshine!

Friday

REST DAY!!  Actually enjoyed today’s rest day, well my legs did that’s for sure!  And instead of getting sweaty I chucked on my dress and heels and enjoyed some gin at the Gin Joint with some very gorgeous ladies …

IMG_0622

Steph, Lissy and Laureen ;D

Saturday

Oh you know, casually became a fully qualified indoor cycling (or spin as we know it) instructor ;D!

A good few hours of spinning, shouting, more spinning and eating!!  More to come on this shortly!

IMG_0643

Sunday

A WET RUN.  Yep the lovely Alice and I said we would go on a little run to catch up and then have a HUGE brunch afterwards.  I think the run was our excuse to have more brunch HOWEVER, the English weather had other plans!  So I set out in the pouring rain (thank god for my uber stylish visor!) and ran the 18minutes to Alice’s door.  I love the running community, on my way to Alice’s house I passed a good few other crazy runners also braving the rain and every single one I passed gave me a knowing smile “YES we are MAD”!  I picked up Alice and we braved the outdoors, planning to do a 30 minute loop around Highbury.  It was wet, and when I say wet I mean WET.  The paths were flooded, the park waterlogged and we, well we were wet to the bone, quickly discovering that our trainers were not “flood proof”.  So 5 minutes in we gave up, turned round grabbed a towel and went to Lululemon Islington to enjoy a yoga class instead.  By the time we had finished our busy day of run, yoga, brunch and bed dismantling/ripping apart the sun showed up so YES we did go back out for a glorious 30 minute run!  HA!  Take that English weather ;D we got ya in the end!  48 minutes of running, 1 hour of flow yoga, 2 hours of brunching and 2 hours of ripping wood to shreds!  It was a good day!

IMG_0698

 

 

5 thoughts on “This week’s workouts & THAT rain!

    A Magpie in the Sky said:
    08/12/2014 at 2:25 pm

    You did well ladies, I wimped out on Sunday morning, and just managed to squeeze my yoga in after my Mum’s birthday lunch but I had to save my 45mins for Monday morning – which was beautiful actually, but I felt cross sitting there at lunch with the sun streaming through the windows!

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/12/2014 at 2:27 pm

      Honestly I picked the worst moment to leave the house but once you’re wet, you’re wet right! However, by the time I got to Alice is was BLACK and the path ways and the roads were completely flooded! Yoga was a far better option, particularly as our run later in the day was GLORIOUS!

    peachylau said:
    08/12/2014 at 2:27 pm

    Wow, total inspiration to get out of my rut.

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/12/2014 at 2:27 pm

      Always happy to help! ;D xxx

    Lauren (@PoweredbyPB) said:
    08/12/2014 at 8:26 pm

    Oo exciting about the spinning, can’t wait to hear about that!

Leave a Reply

