This week’s word: Sweat.

Posted on Updated on

Monday

The world’s sweatiest run!  Whilst in Valencia it was only right that we tried out a run or two in the gorgeous green path created by the old Turia riverbed.  So setting out nice and early (to beat the 35 degree heat?!?) Harry and I made our way to the park and did enough of a stretch to make it a nice 3 miler and then headed back.  I love running in new cities, it’s just a great way to see the place BUT by the time we got back we were both a complete sweaty mess! I have done HOT yoga before and definitely needed a towel during it but nothing competes with how we felt after this run!

20140804-081927-29967738.jpg

Tuesday

Flexing our muscles in an attempt to keep calm with delay after delay after delay getting back to the UK ;D!

Wednesday

3 rounds of full body circuits followed by a HIIT workout on the stepper!  Definitely not on holiday anymore! Ha!

Thursday

Making my track!  Inspired by some of my incredibly speedy friends I decided to get out and do some interval training.  Now I don’t have a track outside my door but the lovely Laura had mentioned that she had used the Emirates Stadium as a track in the past … so off I went!  A nice 1.2 mile warm up followed by 6 x 400 “sprints” with a 1.2 mile cool down home.  I will be doing a lot more of these sorts of runs as my legs are not built for speed. Not one bit! Ask me to run and I’ll go and go and go, ask me to go fast and it’s another story … maybe if you put a piece of carrot cake on a stick I might be more tempted ;D!

20140804-081926-29966640.jpg

Friday

Weights day!  Yay!  There is something really satisfying about lifting! So a few rope pulls, pull ups, shoulder presses, bent over presses and pull over presses later I was a very happy lady!

Saturday

Hungover circuits followed by a horrendous 3 miler on the treadmill. There isn’t much to be said about this run. The cocktails from the night before definitely did not enhance my run, but hey I still got a 2minute plank in!

20140804-081926-29966940.jpg

Sunday

Back in Christmas 2013 I contacted Leah,  a lovely blogger I had had the pleasure of meeting at a few races/NTC sessions, after seeing her post a picture out on a run with a couple of other girls all in the name of marathon training!  Having just agreed to do my first marathon, and with no idea where to start, I asked Leah if I could join them on their next run.  So one VERY cold winter morning I went and met a load of strangers and went for a run.  8 months later, with numerous shared races, training weekends, RUNcations and of course celebratory meals & drinks I now call those strangers some of my closest friends and this Sunday I met up with Harry & Steph and ran a glorious 8.8mile route around Hyde park retracing that original route I did in winter!  It was absolutely gorgeous!  Running, chatting and taking some stunning scenery, plus we did a bit of celeb spotting Adele!

I LOVE running!

20140804-081927-29967018.jpg

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “This week’s word: Sweat.

    Leah said:
    08/05/2014 at 5:56 pm

    I love your description of how our marathon training runs brought us all together. It feels like I have known you all for YEARS, not only 8 months (plus a few other random training sessions). How cool 🙂

      charliezbrown responded:
      08/05/2014 at 5:59 pm

      I know!!! It was so strange I was talking about it with Steph & Harry I just randomly invited myself along and I genuinely think it was one of the best things I ever did! I love how much I have done with you guys and yes all in 8 months! It does feel like years!!! x

        Leah said:
        08/05/2014 at 6:01 pm

        Absolutely the best thing ever! And just think… if you hadn’t just shown up to run with some strangers along the river, you might not have met your regular girl-date Lissy! 😉

        charliezbrown responded:
        08/05/2014 at 6:03 pm

        Ha like I said one of the best decisions I ever made ;D

Leave a Reply

