Mixed Bag of Workouts

Posted on Updated on

So it’s been another week of random workouts … I am sure at some point I will get into a routine!!

Monday

Rest, rest and more rest after the sweaty session that was Run Hackney Half Marathon!

Tuesday

Morning – all about the upper body!  After an awesome session whilst at at the Nürburgring I was keen to try out things on my own … including pull ups!  Yep, I busted out out an assisted pull up or 30 😉 plus some skull crushers (!?), renegade rows, shoulder presses and tricep dips!

Evening – Run Dem Crew – since stepping up two pace groups this is definitely now my speed session. 4.3miles around London … phew!

10444757_10153213955416002_6606277731776617281_n

Wednesday

Morning – Leg day.  So, I haven’t fine tuned my workout plan yet and well now I know not to do leg day after RDC, aka the speed session, but it still felt good to get those squats and lunges in!

Evening – Xen Do taster session – Laureen, Charlie and I got to experience a short kick boxing taster session which was brilliant!!  We kicked and boxed as hard as we could, whilst learning some great self defense moves!  The class was led by Rafael Nieto who took the time to explain the theory behind the moves and then got us working…hard!  Really hope to go back for another session soon, I loved it!!!

IMG_9579    IMG_9576

Thursday

4mile steady run. Awful, like I said my workouts need tweaking slightly but hey it’s all a learning curve!

Friday

I joined Zoe, Charlie and Lissy to test out my new Sweaty Betty swimming costume at the Oasis Outdoor Pool in Covent Garden.  Sadly the outdoor pool was closed (which I was a little bit glad about as I am such a whimp in the cold) but this also meant that the indoor was manic and I definitely got splashed a lot more than I wanted to!  However, this was a lovely excuse to catch up with the ladies and I managed to swim a nice and relaxed 30 lengths in 25 minutes, so not all bad :D!

Saturday

Fulham Palace parkrun with Lissy, Leah and Steph, introducing Leah to the world of parkruns!  This was a great route, 3 laps around the beautiful Bishop’s Park taking you through the park and along the river!  I love parkruns!  Free, timed 5km runs where all involved are super friendly, runners and volunteers, and all in a relaxed atmosphere (with the option to push if you really want :D!)  This was a great run and Steph and I definitely helped pace each other for a great sub 26 minute 5km time!

IMG_9621

Sunday

Roga! Roga! Roga!

The awesome Lululemon Islington every so often (I am hoping they will become more frequent!) throw a ROGA event… Run + Yoga = ROGA!  Led by the awesome Becs (after a nice warm up 2mile run to the studio / Lissy joined me via bike – proof below) we did a gorgeous 6 mile route along the canal to Victoria Park enjoying the sunshine and then headed back to the studio to stretch out with an hours yoga session in a near by park.  Honestly I cannot recommend this enough!  The run definitely makes yoga a little bit more intense and don’t be surprised if you find yourself falling asleep in the end of the class but it is just such a good way to spend a Sunday!  Keep your eyes posted for the next one!

10441398_10100107473361548_5609490302724700301_n

 

2 thoughts on “Mixed Bag of Workouts

    100blinksgone said:
    07/05/2014 at 8:16 am

    Love the roga idea! V keen to join next one! cara x

      charliezbrown responded:
      07/06/2014 at 8:34 pm

      Honestly Cara I cannot recommend it enough! Lovely bunch of people and the runs always provide gorgeous scenery!! x

Leave a Reply

